homeaboutvarioustop destinationseventsdead or alive, famous norwegianstream, feed


friele coffeaker solutions

unesco list
urnes stave church


Urnes Stave Church (1979)

Bryggen (1979)

Røros (1980)

Rock Carvings of Alta (1985)

The Vega Archipelago - Vegaøyan (2004)

Struve Geodetic Arc (2005)

Geirangerfjord (2005)

Nærøyfjord (2005)

Rjukan (2015)

Notodden (2015)


The World Heritage List includes 812 properties forming part of the cultural and natural heritage which the World Heritage Committee considers as having outstanding universal value. These include 628 cultural, 160 natural and 24 mixed properties in 137 States Parties.


The convention for the protection of the worlds cultural and natural heritage was approved in 1972, after cultural heritage and natural heritage areas were increasingly under threat from war, natural disasters, pollution, tourism or more simply, neglect.

The convention encourages all countries to promote the protection of cultural and natural heritage of both local and national significance. The most important goal of the convention is to identify cultural and natural heritage of universal value.

The need for a coordinated effort, both human and economic, was demonstrated by the international rescue of cultural heritage monuments in Egypt and Nubia, when the Aswan dam was built in the 1960´s. Sixty countries participated.

Norway in the Committee

In 2003 Norway was elected to the World Heritage Committee, wich is responsible for the evaluation of new areas and objects to the list. An important challenge is to work for a more balanced World Heritage List, both geographically and thematically.

After approximately 30 years, the list does not reflect that poorer countries also have a large part of the world´s natural and cultural heritage. Therefore, it is important that countries with few or no World Heritage Sites, can nominate new sites. In addition natural areas are significantly under-represented and Norway will emphasize the nomination of such areas.