homeaboutvarioustop destinationseventsdead or alive, famous norwegianstream, feed




Hof in Norway Hof municipality coat of arms


163,1 km2

Hof Local Directory

Accommodation, Businesses and more pictures from Hof

Hof municipality has approximately 3.100 inhabitants and covers a area of 163,1 km2. Farming and forestry have always been important for settling and employment in Hof. The highest peak are Skibergfjell mountain (632 metres). The main attractions are Old Eidsfoss, Eikern lake, Eidsfoss Farm (hovedgård), Sundbyfossen waterfall, Sundbyfossen mill, Hof Church, Eidsfoss Church, Vassås Church.


Old Eidsfoss is a living historical industrial area in beautiful surroundings. Gamle Eidsfoss consisting of Bråtagata, Hauane and Gata, as well as the Manor House (Hovedgården) and the works area, is an industrial site of unique historical importance. The around 25 buildings most likely represent the best preserved ironworks community in Norway. Today many of the buildings are restored and show us our recent history in a living society. New industries have established themselves in the venerable buildings and provide new jobs for many people.

The ironworks and industrial town of Eidsfoss were founded in 1697 by General Caspar Herman Hausmann, member of the the Privy Council (Cabinet) and later a general. He was half-brother of Norway´s Governor Ulrik Fredrik Gyldenløve. For generations, Eidsfoss was a living, independent community, in many ways a state within a state. There were a number of reasons why this small industrial town went into a severe decline, one of them being major centralisation efforts implemented in the 1960s and 1970s. The Old Eidsfos Foundation (Stiftelsen Gamle Eidsfos) was established in 1979 and took the initiative to preserve the town and breathe new life into it.


Eidsfoss Hovedgaard was built in 1750.


Hof Church built in 1673, Eidsfoss Church built in 1904 and Vassås Church built in 1673.


Hof Golfclub is a golf course with 9 holes and a variation of difficulties. The course lies at the farm Storeng, closed to RV 35.